Finding Writers & Friends

Finding other writers can be hard.

In real life, a lot tend to be introverts. (I’m talking to you, Cowering Writer, who sits in the corner at the coffee shop and doesn’t make eye contact with the barista who is obviously trying to get your attention.)

There’s this thing called Pitch Wars. I might have mentioned it. A time or two. Or more. A lot more. A metric million ton more.

Even if you’re not ready to enter Pitch Wars this year, you can still benefit from it. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Community Is Key. It’s like my slogan. Or my catch phrase. Or an acronym CIK (that’s totally cik, brah).

One of the best things about Pitch Wars is the collective community of writers that pool together on Twitter. They play games (If your MC stole something from your house, what would it be?), and they connect (#PitchWars #PitchWarriors). They chat with mentors and with each other. They ask for advice, they share their stories.

You don’t have to enter, and you don’t have to tightrope your way into the community. Just dive in, ask a question or two on the hashtag, and learn about others and–in doing so–learn about yourself.

Community. Is. Key!*

 

*totally not a trademark but should be.

9 thoughts on “Finding Writers & Friends

  1. It’s really a very interesting community. Sadly I’m not fond of twitter, nor have I had time to participate a lot lately, even though I *am* entering PitchWars. (He says, trying desperately to swallow his insecurities).

    Anyway, I’m blessed to already have plenty of writer friends thanks to a magic place called Scribophile. It’s a critique trading site, and its format almost *begs* you to connect with new people. It’s actually through a scrib friend that I even heard about PW in the first place.

    Definitely worth a look for any aspiring author. #notsponsored.

    • I haven’t personally tried Scribophile, but I’ve heard great things about it! (#alsonotasponser)

      I’ll tell you what though, everyone who got into Pitch Wars last year as a mentee ended up having a Twitter–oftentimes their mentor helped them set it up if they didn’t have one already (a couple mentees created a FaceBook account for the first time as well). So even if you don’t have one currently, it’s a great platform for agents and authors, and that crossover is really valuable. Scribophile IS a great place for writers, but Twitter has the agents. 😉

  2. I’m entering this year (wasn’t ready by ANY MEANS last year) and am sorta feeling overwhelmed already by the sheer amazingness. Lol. So it’s totally a good thing. I love the PW community. I’ve learned a lot since the few days I’ve been on the Twitter hashtag and I was really really hoping I’d see you as a mentor!!! .<

    • Yayy! Excitement! I *thought* about being a mentor, but since I’m working on my first ever editorial schedule with my editor, I didn’t want to spread myself too thin! I am doing a 30 minute micro-mentoring as part of Mike Mammay’s critique giveaway. And it if goes well and I enjoy it, then I might do something more like that via the twitter. *innocent shrug*

      • Yes! That is absolutely understandable and I am now desperately rushing off to Mike’s site to see this critique giveaway and whether or not I’m too late! *yelps because I’m sure I am*
        BTW, I used your Star Wars example to help me get started with my query because I was so lost! Lol. It was really really helpful. So thank you! ❤

Leave a Reply

