Two-Book Deal: A Tale of Multitasking

If I didn’t freak out enough (I probably did), then I’ll restate it here:

I’m getting published! And not just any old published—I got a 2-book deal! That means that my super-savvy literary agent, Pete Knapp, finagled our way to getting a book deal that includes not only THE NAMELESS QUEEN, but an as-of-yet-unnamed sequel!

This leads to fun things like contracts that say stuff like “THE NAMELESS QUEEN + UNTITLED SEQUEL” and “Nameless Queen + Book.” It’s all kinds of fantastic math that boils down to the simple conclusion:

Starting in 2018, I will be a published author. And within another year-ish, I’ll have TWO books published.

*delicately refrains and fails from squealing with joy*

Let’s talk multi-tasking. Two books is no small feat, and most books are published about a year apart. So let’s take a look at the general timeline.

Let’s say my final manuscript is due this December, 2016. (It is.) Then it’s about 1 whole year until it’s published and out on a shelf somewhere. (Yep. Spring-ish 2018.) So, that means Untitled Sequel Book is being published in 2019 Spring-ish. So my final manuscript for NQ2 will likely be due in 2017 December.

But hold on, says the mathy part of your brain. How long did it take for me to do the first draft of NQ1?

It took me about 3 months to do the first draft, and then another 4-5 months to do revisions on my own, then 2 months of revisions with my mentor as a part of Pitch Wars, and another week of revisions with my agent, and—so far—another 3-5 months to do revisions with my editor.

That’s about a year and a half of work. And now I’m supposed to have a book coming out a year from the first one? Yikes! But don’t freak out so much, math brain. Let’s talk multi-tasking.

While I was waiting for my edit letter for a good solid few months, I had time to start Book 2. I got about 1/3 to 1/2 of the way through it during that time. Right now I’m working on edits for Book 1, and when I send my edits to my editor for review (in August), I’ll have some more time to jump back into Book 2. Then, when I’ve submitted my final-final version by December, I can dive in full-strength.

So by the time I’m on the 1-year-to-finish-Book-2 clock, I will already be at least 1/2 way through drafting. Yes, this means I’ll be working on Book 2 (and will likely finish it) before Book 1 even comes out.

Not to mention that I’ll get to work directly with  my agent and editor on revisions, so it’ll be a much more streamlined process. AND! The world and characters are already set up, so doing a sequel isn’t as much upfront work as starting a whole new book! It’s still going to be a lot of work on a tighter schedule, but I’m ready for it.

I have a solid foundation to build from, a good support system backing me, and a clear path ahead.

Basically, COME AT ME, 2017. I GOTCHU.

3 thoughts on “Two-Book Deal: A Tale of Multitasking

Leave a Reply

