Last 50 Pages of Revision!

I’m in the home stretch for finishing my first round of revisions. My Nameless Queen is almost at the close.

Still to do:

  • Write in 2 scenes.
    • One of these scenes is something I decided to add recently. It’s back a ways, maybe around Chapter 23 (she said, making a complete guess).
    • One of these scenes is something I had been operating under the assumption that I had already written/added this entire time. Come to find, my characters have spontaneous knowledge and emotions about something that never happened.
      • Oops.
  • Finish the last 40-something pages of line edits and scene changes.
  • Hopefully cut an additional couple thousand words in these last chapters. I’ve already cut down from 141k to 127k, so that’s awesome!
  • Evaluate the ending.
    • Does it hit home? Is it conclusive?
    • Does it leave enough subtle threads lingering?
    • Does it tie all the loose threads together from the beginning of the book?
  • Are all of my favorite quotable quotes up on my wall between the axes yet??
  • Maybe write in a third scene. Shifting a bit of betrayal about, giving The Letter to that other character, reorganizing the breadbox, that type of thing.
  • Give a name to the “Northern Neighbor” City that I keep metioning.
    • Hopefully it won’t take as long to come up with this name as it did to name the main character’s city, Seriden.
    • Also, change “Northern” to “Eastern.” Geography must be obeyed.
  • Maybe do a bit of shuffling at the end to bring back some familiar faces?

 

See? I’m almost done, and still so much ahead!

Revision, like writing itself, is a multilayered, complicated process. It involves a lot brain-power and thoughts like what could make this even better, and what parts are boring, and is this the best way for that to happen?

 

What sort of questions do you ask when you’re revising and writing?

Are you making slow and steady progress up the hill of revision?

What sorts of changes do you make during the revision stage?

 

8 thoughts on “Last 50 Pages of Revision!

  1. Hello! I stumbled in here from the NaNoWriMo forums and I’m *so* glad I did! I’m doing Camp this month and trying to revise. My novel is mostly finished but missing some major scenes and a few huge character changes have me really overwhelmed. Your plan of action has given me inspiration and hope 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Hello! I stumbled in here from the NaNoWriMo forums and I’m *so* glad I did! I’m doing Camp this month and trying to revise. My novel is mostly finished but missing some major scenes and a few huge character changes have me really overwhelmed. Your plan of action has given me inspiration and hope 🙂 Good luck!

  3. Pingback: Revision is Similar to Writing | words — and other things

Leave a Reply

