Another Reason to Write Your Book Out Loud

Have you ever woken up from a Kick-A dream, and you furiously scramble for something to write it down with, but you can’t find the right words to describe it, and you end up losing it?

Me too.

Then I started dictating my book, writing it out loud, and now I can access the recording app on my phone in record time (haha, record time, get it?). Recording your voice allows for copious “umm, ehh… awkward pauses…” and you don’t have to write out complete sentences. Just a train of thought: words and the tonal emotions implicit behind them.

As another defense for writing your book out loud (in addition to my first reason), I offer you the events of my morning:

1. Wake up an undisclosed hour, having had an epic story-quality dream containing the following:

  • 15-year-old Main Character whose father abandons her as she discovers she has the ability to absorb energy from the sun (including residual energy from people and plants that soak up sun rays), and perform various abilities such as experiencing others’ memories, flying, and directing the energy in concentrated bursts.
  • Special effects that supersede cinematic’s, because in our dreams, the graphics are as excellent as real life. Color-changing eyes, flying, stealing energy, awesomeness!
  • A half-baked plot line which at some point included a crayon-shaped roller coaster and invisible fire.
  • A retirement party for Steven who has been working for forty years at the company that catalogs people’s powers (good on ya, Steve!)
  • Two goons: one with a constraining power, one with flight, both using different, unknown energy forms.
  • A missing little brother.

2. Frantically reach for recording device which was nearby because I was transcribing my book from it the previous night.

  • In a terribly slurred, slightly incomprehensible fashion, recount the events of the dream so as not to lose it.
  • Every time I’ve tried to write down dreams, i can never find the light switch or a pencil in time (or I forget how sentences and letters work).

3. Check the clock. 7 AM. Oh well.

4. Get up, clean the kitchen and bathroom in addition to the living room and bedroom (as you get older, weekends become time available for cleaning, not hanging out, amiright?)

5. Call Eldest Sister. Discover we both had epic story-dreams. Share ideas. Decide that we’re both psychic and awesome.

6. Transcribe 6,000 words of The Nameless Queen that I dictated on Saturday/Friday.

7. Drink coffee during Steps 4–6.

8. Drink more coffee.

In essence, using a recording device allows you to capture your thoughts even when they are random and illegible.

And here’s a sleeping baby duck. Just because.

Do I want to wake up? *shakes head* No.

4 thoughts on “Another Reason to Write Your Book Out Loud

  1. Pingback: AFTER NaNoWriMo 2014 (December 19): Ice is Scary | words — and other things
  2. It’s so interesting to hear about how other writers manage their work. Personally, I can’t stand dictating – I’ve found that I think better in words, so to speak, but I have a friend who’s just like you and always dictates her writing. I keep a notebook by my bed for those dream ideas – they’re so fleeting and wonderful, and it’s terrible losing them!

    • I always get funny looks from people when I talk about story-quality dreams, especially when I tell them that I’m not always the main character of the dream.
      I always hated dictating until I realized that my life schedule and sleeping habits weren’t conducive to 3 AM writing sessions when I had work at 7 AM the next morning.
      I once had a notebook bedside, but I kept knocking it off and using it for other things 😛

  3. Pingback: A Reason to Write Your Book Out Loud | words — and other things

Leave a Reply

