Camp Nano 2014 July – Update 9: Done, but never finished

As July comes to a close, I find myself going through my manuscript again, more slowly than before.

When this whole thing started, my goal was to revise the first book I wrote (between the years of 2007 and 2010).

I’ve written a few other books since then, but I realized that if I wanted to get published, I had to get serious about revision.  I went through and did an overview revision, which took about a week of hardcore labor.

Now I’m doing a close revision, which is largely focused on paring word count to produce more efficient prose.  It’s a slower game, but I get to make observations like, “Yeah, this section works.  Oh look, that typo I thought I fixed somehow got worse.  Yikes, this makes less sense than before.  This part is perfect!”

It’s equal parts rewarding and challenging.

Even though the month is almost over, I’m still not quite finished.  I’ve gone through about twenty versions of the query letter for the book, and I’ve got a decent 1-page synopsis too.

Just because the month is over, doesn’t mean my work is.  My goal was to revise my manuscript to the point that I can send it out and seek representation.

I’m not quite there, but I’m a whole heck of a lot closer than I was thirty days ago.  If I can perfect my query letter and really solidify the first few chapters, I think I’ll be good.

 

Question to end all questions:

Was Camp Nanowrimo July 2014 a success?

Yes!

Leave a Reply

