Camp Nano 2014 July – Update 6

As previously mentioned, Camp NaNoWriMo is a more flexible, personalized version of November NaNoWriMo, and I have been using it to revise my book, The Amateur Witch, which is around 103,000 words long now.  As of yesterday, I had surpassed the 100k word count goal I had set using the personal word count goal available at Camp Nano.

Does that mean I’m finished revising?  Nope.  It means I went through and revised it.  It also means that I got to chapter 31 and realized it needs a chapter break somewhere (the impossible part is deciding where to put it), and I have some fuzzy secondary character conflicts to tidy up, not to mention the befuddling fact that a few characters re-emerged after having fallen off the page in chapter 8.

Hurtle: I’m going for real camping this weekend (leaving today, haven’t packed yet, that sort of thing).

Problem: How do I keep revising while I am out of town and away from the computer?

Solutions:

Take my computer with me for the long car ride.  That way, I’m still being a little bit productive.  The hazard with this is that I’ll be leaving my very-important computer in a car alone all weekend.  Ehhhh… worth the risk.  As long as I take a jump drive so I can archive/back up my work while I’m internet-less.

If I was writing, I could take a notebook and write longhand.  But since I’m revising, I sort of need the manuscript.  I could print some of the issue-areas off and take it with me.  This way, I have a small, compact pile of papers to scribble on when the fresh air gets me down.

I could take the mini-vacation and actually take a break from revising.  The distance might actually do me some good, and I can come back refreshed.  This will be the true test of whether or not I’m secretly addicted to revision.  After all, it’s only for a couple of days. I should be totally…*twitch*… fine leaving my book behind…*twitch*

 

So.  Out of the three options above, I haven’t quite made my decision yet.  As I mentioned before, I haven’t packed yet. So… we’ll see.

 

This is where I’m at as of this morning:

2014nanojuly11

 

Leave a Reply

